CLK-Class (W209) 2003 on: CLK 270 CDI, CLK 200K, CLK 200 CGI, CLK 240, CLK 320, CLK 350, CLK 500, CLK 550 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

Fog on OUTSIDE of windshield, Is there a fix?

Old 07-31-2009, 10:07 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2006 CLK 350 Coupe
Question Fog on OUTSIDE of windshield, Is there a fix?

Hi,

I'm new to my 2006 w209 and live in a humid area. I get big patches of fog on the outside of my windshield, much more than I ever experienced with other cars. The wipers clear it but it comes back in seconds.

The defroster duct is passing too much cold air on the windshield and it is cooling it condensing fog on the outside.

I use auto setting on the climate control and it is the worst. If I go manual and kick the fan up to 5 or 6 then it is a little better because the system has to blend warmer air to maintain the cabin temp with such high fan flows. The noise of the fan is bothersome and it is inefficient to use that much conditioned air.

Can it be fixed?

I thought about putting a cover over the ducts on the dash but that is hokey.

Doug
Old 07-31-2009, 11:53 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I drive the racism out of BadDebt. ;)
consult your user manual...it explains how to maintain the fog....
something like 3 degree diffrence to keep the fog off...
i know its in the manual though.
Old 08-01-2009, 10:40 AM
Out Of Control!!

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
04 CLK 320 > CLK32K
Haha I had the same problem this morning, it just went away!
Old 08-01-2009, 11:40 AM

2006 CLK 350 Coupe
I believe what is said in the owners manual although I'm calling BS on MBZ. It's humid here often and in the summer the car can get hot and you need the 20 -30 degree drop of AC air to cool it off. If it was maintained at 3 degrees it would never cool the interior.