GL Class (X164) 2007-2012: GL320CDI, GL420CDI, GL450, GL550

Rough Idle

Old 04-28-2011, 03:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'10 C300
Rough Idle

Hey guys-

i've got a '08 GL450 and it seems that during idle rpm's the car is jerky and stutters. anyone experiencing similar problems?
Old 04-28-2011, 09:39 PM

GL450
2008 GL450

I had a problem that may be similar to your issue. At a stop light or sign, the engine seemed to have a slight miss. I took it to dealer and it replaced the head on the passenger side of engine under warranty (approx. 49,000 miles on vehicle at the time). Service director said several of the exhaust valves were not properly aligned and wore the area where they seat unevenly and the seal was not correct. (Please forgive my use of terminology-I am not a mechanic and the vehicle is in my lower garage, which is too far away for me to go get the work order at this time.) He also said this was a problem they had seen before. Further, he said MB was aware of this problem and authorized the repair without hesitation.

Regards
Old 04-28-2011, 09:47 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2007 MB GL450
Do you have CEL on? What's mileage? On freeway,do you feel less power?
Old 04-28-2011, 10:44 PM

'10 C300
CEL is not on. Mileage is around 32k. Can't really tell if there's power loss on fwy. Essentially when I put the gear into drive and let it go without any acceleration it seems to stutter and "vibrate" alot. doesn't seem like engine misfired or something
Old 04-29-2011, 12:25 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2007 MB GL450
I would suggest you check the big vacuum line on top of engine under the plastic cover. Sometimes after service, it is not put back on all the way. Also, make sure to always use premium gas. Lower octane gas can make jerky/vibration when stopping. It's hard to say, since CEL is not on and diagnostics can't be run for codes. May be camshaft/crankshaft sensor replacement is due?
Old 04-29-2011, 09:27 PM

'10 C300