C-Class (W204) 2008 - 2014: C180K, C200K, C230, C280, C300, C350, C200CDI, C220CDI, C320CDI

Bubbles in Continental Tires

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-26-2011, 02:41 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2012 E350 4Matic
Bubbles in Continental Tires

I lease a 2009 C300 4Matic. I replaced the R/F tire in January of 2009 due to a sidewall bubble. I then replaced the same tire in July of 2010 for the same reason. I had a road hazard claim that reduced the price of the tire by 50%. In February of 2010 I had to replace the L/R tire and the same tire again in November. Now I have bubbles on the sidewall of both front tires. I live in Washington, DC which has its share of potholes. At the same time I have been driving for about 40 years and have never had so many tire problems as I have had with this car. My driving hasn't changed. The car has only 31,000 miles on it. I don't drive much.

I understand that the OEM Continental Tires are low profile. Does this contribute to the issues I have been seeing. I plan to take the car to the dealer tomorrow to replace the two front tires again. Would another brand of tire serve me better?

Finally, my lease is up in August of 2012 and I am not sure I want another C300 if I will continue to face tire issues like these.
Old 12-26-2011, 03:20 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 57 Likes on 36 Posts
Another round of ICE
It's not the car...it's the tires. You could buy another brand of car, and if they source to Conti for OE applications, you could wind up with very similar tires again. The problem is not inherent in low profile tires, but has come up with those Contis. Don't give up on the car...go get a set of Michelin Pilot Sport A/S Plus and experience the difference. Up to this point, the analogy is you've been walking around in a tuxedo, but with flip-flop sandals.