Notices
Audio & Electronics Use this forum to discuss audio and electronic upgrades for your Mercedes-Benz.

Easy & Safe Radio Installation in 1998-2005 ML!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-14-2014, 07:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2011 Lincoln Town Car L
Easy & Safe Radio Installation in 1998-2005 ML!

As a professional installer, I have developed an easy way to upgrade your head unit (radio) in the 1998-2005 ML (W163). These instructions assume your ML has the Bose system. First, some facts:

1. Modern head units are rated at the CEA2006 (Consumer Electronics Association) spec for power output, which is the rated power fed to the speakers at 1% THD (Total Harmonic Distortion). For the layman, that means a clean power level at which it still sounds decent, not distorted.

2. These replacement aftermarket radios develop anywhere from 16 to 19 watts per channel (4 channels) at this clean CEA2006 spec. Unless you are a true audiophile, that is actually very good power output for most people. Later on, I will tell you how to get a clean 45 watts per channel for only another $120.

3. The old Bose amp puts out less than this. Thanks to miniaturization and the economies of scale, Japanese radio companies (I like Kenwood, Pioneer and JVC) have lowered their prices and boosted features and power output on al head units.

4. So if you have any problems at all with your old, tired Benz radio, now is a great time to get modern features such as Bluetooth telephony, Pandora and other streaming music services, iPhone integration, etc. You can of course even get GPS in these radios.

OK, since I cannot figure out how to easily add photos to this post, and I have many clear photos, just go to my facebook page. It's all quite clear there: facebook.com/RollingTonesUpgrades

Look for the posting titled "Do it Yourself Radio Upgrade for the 1998-2005 Mercedes-Benz ML"

Thanks!
Old 04-16-2014, 08:33 AM

2011 Lincoln Town Car L