C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

Question about projector type for retro.

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-25-2011, 11:49 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2005 c230 kompressor
Question about projector type for retro.

Hey guys, I have a question about retrofitting projectors. I am new to the world of retrofitting. I never knew about it until just recently. Mainly because most of my previous cars already had projectors. I posted this question on my car thread but no one has responded to it. Since I have been researching more about retrofitting I see that a lot of people doing retro's go with the fx type projectors. I just want to know why. Is it because of cost? I have been checking out http://www.theretrofitsource.com/ and I'm pretty sure that all of their projectors have good quality cut offs and spread so why do the fx projectors seem to be the most popular? I am definitely going to do my own retro in the not too distant future. I want to do something different or go with different projectors at least.

I am thinking about doing my retro with either AP1 S2K which is 2000-2003 or the other one I was thinking about the Lexus LS 460 projector. Also, are these projectors all about the same size fitment wise?

I just want to know more info about these type of things because I want to do a really nice job on mine. Thanks in advance for any input.
Old 05-25-2011, 02:27 PM

2005 c230 kompressor
Damn guys, almost 150 views And no responses?
Old 05-25-2011, 04:12 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
...a panty dropper...
I think they choose FX because of the cost, size, and light output. There was another retrofit thread where they used a different projector but it barely fit. The FX is the perfect fit from what I have gathered. Good luck with the retrofit!
Old 05-25-2011, 04:58 PM

2005 c230 kompressor