C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

06 C280 died, won't turn over

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-29-2014, 02:13 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
06 C280 4matic, 04 Saturn Vue Redline, 97 bagged S10
06 C280 died, won't turn over

Mercedes noob here, but I've been wrenching on cars for most of my life. Back in December I picked up an exceptionally clean 06 C280 4matic with 43k on it. Since then I've put another 10k miles on it with no problems aside from intermittent keyless entry and sat radio, and a couple interior issues (drivers door pull, right rear door lock mechanism, and a broken speaker grill.) today I was driving home from work, and the car stumbled momentarily going into second gear. A block later, it died sitting at a light. Put the car in Park, removed the key, and tried to restart the car. Key turned like normal, but won't turn over at all. Pushed the car into a parking lot and started troubleshooting. Battery sits at 12.5v, fuse 52 is already a 20a and isn't blown. Removed and cleaned the battery terminals and was able to get the starter to bump momentarily but not turn over fully, just a fraction of a second. I assumed the battery was bad, so I removed it and took it to Auto Zone for a replacement. They tested it at 900 CCA and surprisingly it tested as good. Had them charge it for me and reinstalled. Still nothing. Tried to jump start it, same thing. Gave up and called a tow truck. Found out that the factory tow hook adapter was missing from the tool kit, and they couldn't tow it. Going to try the dealership tomorrow for a tow hook so I can at least get it home safely, then I need to figure out what went wrong. Still a bit suspect of the battery, but I'm wondering if I'm missing something here. Any ideas? Really hoping it's not something expensive...
Old 07-29-2014, 06:15 AM
Super Moderator

Received 175 Likes on 142 Posts