C-Class (W204) 2008 - 2014: C180K, C200K, C230, C280, C300, C350, C200CDI, C220CDI, C320CDI

Steering Issue

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-17-2015, 09:26 PM

Received 19 Likes on 12 Posts
2019 GLC63
Steering Issue

Hello Everyone,

I am new to the forum and wanted to say hello.

I have been browsing this forum for a couple years now and finally decided to sign up.

I appreciate the wealth of information that all of you share on here, I am an avid researcher.

With that said, I think I have an issue that through many months of research I just can't put my finger on.

I am an enthusiast, I love sports cars. I used to own a 600 hp Camaro but sold it in 2011 to help pay for college tuition.

My soon to be wife and I leased our first C300's a couple of years ago and we are now on our second set of C300's.

We both got 2014's... Hers is Mars Red Sport Sedan and Mine is Polar White with the AMG Sport Package.

Here is my issue.

Her car handles way better than mine. Strange right? Tire pressures are set by the fuel door recommendation on both cars.. Hers 33 / 38 Mine 36 / 39

She is running 17" Continental Pro contacts - factory.. I am running Pirelli P Zero Nero's 18" Factory.

Her steering feels very tight and heavy like I think it should... My car on the other hand the steering is very light to the point when driving spiritedly it makes holding corners very difficult at higher speeds.

I have taken it back to the dealership to have checked out and OF COURSE i am told there is nothing wrong with my car. My Fiance and I have switched cars for a day or so and even she can tell the difference.

I have 20k miles on my car she has about 10k

To the best of my knowledge in 2014 both cars should come standard with speed sensitive steering correct?

My car the steering rarely seems to tighten up where her car the steering never ever loosens up or becomes lighter however you want to put it...