C Class (W205) C 180 BlueTec,C 200 BlueTec,C 220 BlueTec,C 220 BlueTec BlueEfficiency,C 250 BlueTec,C 300 BlueTec Hybridplus,C 180,C 180 BlueEfficiency,C 200,C 250,C 300,C 400 Plug-in Hybrid,C 400

Paint Protection Options

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-23-2017, 10:15 AM

Received 28 Likes on 25 Posts
C63S
Paint Protection Options

I'm new to the market for paint protection as I think they weren't that high of quality the last time I bought a new car (8 years ago). You could always see the edges between the protected and unprotected areas and they would discolor over time. I understand that the options have greatly improved so I wanted to look into doing one for my C450. The car was used with 9500 miles on it so it already has some minor blemishes, but I would like to protect as much as possible going forward.

I wanted to see what people's experiences have been with different options and what people would recommend. One of the differentiating features I've heard of is that some will "self-heal". That seems like a desirable feature, but I'm not sure if it's just marketing BS. I don't know much yet about other differentiating features so the main thing I'd be looking for (aside from good protection) is to have the edges between protected/unprotected areas as invisible as possible.

I'm aware of xpel, gtechniq, modesta, ceramic pro, and clear bra. But don't really know the differences aside from that I believe xpel and clear bra are vinyl applications whiles the others are ceramic. Also, not exactly sure how they vary on price, but I think ceramics are cheaper to get the whole car done? A friend in the industry said the vinyl wraps like xpel cost about as much to do the front end as a ceramic would cost to do the whole car. But I guess the ceramics have about a 5 year lifespan while a vinyl film will never really go bad?