Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-23-2008, 12:17 PM
cdd

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
N/A
Sirius

Hey Guys--

I will be the proud new owner of amgnut's C55 on Saturday and I have a question about Sirius.

I've poured over a bunch of searches on this and can't seem to find this exact scenario--and since I'm new to MB's, I want to make sure I understand correctly.

The car is an '06 with COMAND. There is a SAT button on the head unit, but the car does not have Sirius. When I searched the topic, I came on a pdf of an internal instruction sheet on how to install Sirius in the car and if I read it correctly, it involved putting an additional antenna on the top of the trunk (external, not internal).

I would have thought that the install would have only required the addition of a module--that the factory antenna would have had all the wiring necessary to receive the satellite signal.

Can anyone comment on this--or will I definitly need to get this second antenna to get Sirius?

Thanks for the help with this--I've been reading up on this forum for the past 2 years or so and it's been a great resource in learning about these cars.
Old 01-23-2008, 11:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
06 C55
I've got the same as you

I bought mine new last March.

Even though it is Sirius ready, you still need the module AND the antenne.

I priced it all out at the dealer with some heavy haggling. Couldn't get them below $800 + change for the install and equipment.

Look up Sunil. I've been talking to him. He may have some leads.

PM me if you make any prgress please.

Old 01-24-2008, 12:11 AM
cdd

N/A
Thanks for the info. I'll definitely take it to the dealer here and see what they say.

The $800 is pretty steep, but honestly I'm more concerned with the placement of the antenna. If it can be done internally, I might just cough up the dough.

If I get a different answer, I'll post what I find.
Old 01-24-2008, 02:58 AM