Considering a C55 AMG - pros and cons?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-25-2014, 11:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'95 E320 cab
Considering a C55 AMG - pros and cons?

Hi,

I am considering getting a 05-07 C55 AMG. Probably under 70K miles.

I would appreciate any comments or advice. I am an experienced mechanic and longtime MB owner ('95 E320 Cab), however I am not looking to wrench on this car right off the bat!

Thanks in advance,

John
Old 11-26-2014, 04:27 AM

Received 40 Likes on 33 Posts
C55 AMG T with Kleemann K2 and some stuff: 414 hp and 576Nm :-)
One of the most reliable AMG cars ever built!
Old 11-26-2014, 02:04 PM
tw2
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 280 Likes on 231 Posts
2005 E55 AMG, 1991 MR2
Pro's- lots of fun in a practical package.

Con's- paying for gas and tires.

As mentioned the C55 and CLK55 are some of the most reliable AMG's around and if you can do your own maintenance then running costs are very reasonable.
Old 11-26-2014, 03:19 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 26 Likes on 23 Posts
eclectic assortment of cars
I would add to the above comments:

pros - the C55 still feels relatively modern despite being ~10 years old - ie. definitely feels a lot closer to the current range of Benzes than the ones from the 90s; 2/3 the car of a C63 at less than 1/3 the cost; no major mechanical concerns reported - engine is durable, transmission is durable-ish by all reports (contrast to the potential - but probably overblown - nightmare concerns with the 63 cars and their engines); front bumper is relatively low, and it and the front lower fender liner can crack easily (but replacement of the liners is pretty inexpensive and simple)