C32 AMG, C55 AMG (W203) 2001 - 2007

Suspension upgrade...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-23-2015, 02:25 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
C55 AMG
Suspension upgrade...

Hi...im New to Mercedes and this forum. Owned a few bimmer's and some antiques/classics so not new to DIY's. So I picked up an 05 C55 last week from up north.

Bought it from a guy off autotrader. The car needs some TLC but thats no big deal and most of the paint and body stuff will be handled by a pro. The suspension is tired and i'm getting front end chatter while braking and on long sweeping turns. Im sure the control arms and ball joints and end links are shot as the brakes are new and no steering wobble.

I've only ever used Lemforder for suspension replacements on my bimmer's...so anyone here want to chime in and give me your opinion on replacements parts for the C55?

I also have a very mild vibration in park or drive when stopped...does this sound like motor mounts and a transmission mount are needed to be replaced?

Thanks!

Last edited by DamienLBC; 03-23-2015 at 02:45 PM.
Old 03-23-2015, 04:04 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 26 Likes on 23 Posts
eclectic assortment of cars
Lemfoerder is the bomb. I dunno if you'd want to use anything else, unless you were doing the repairs on the cheap so as to flip the car again. The front suspension doesn't appear to last as long as the previous design from the 202 body cars, unfortunately. Dunno why that is the case. The 203 has McPherson strut, the 202 a separate spring and shock set up.

Your mild vibration symptoms definitely sounds like engine mounts. I had the same issue last summer, and it was cured immediately with new mounts. It was also very mild in my case, but I noticed it immediately one day last summer when waiting at a light. By the time I managed to find time to get at the job, one of the mounts was clearly leaking.