C32 AMG, C55 AMG (W203) 2001 - 2007

C32 Intercooler Woes

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-24-2016, 10:42 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
2002 C32 ///AMG
C32 Intercooler Woes

I'm glad to see that it seems there is still a relatively active w203 C32/55 community here on the MBworld forums.

I have come to the sad realization that all C32's will eventually have the dreaded intercooler leak and that mine has just started. As of right now, I put in only 1/3cup of MB specific coolant when my car displays "low coolant" because I am trying to see how bad the leak is. It seems that my leak is very very slow, the low coolant light has only come on twice in 2500 miles. (Part of me just wants to fill the reservoir up to the top, as MB recommends and forget about it).

Anyway Im a mechanical engineering undergrad and I want to fix my car the right way.

I just purchased the Needswings intercooler cooling circuit separation kit and I plan to install it. When I install it I want to find either a small reservoir, or just some clear tubing so I can monitor the levels in the I/C circuit (as it will not longer be able to replenish coolant).

If it is still using coolant after being separated from the high-temp and high-pressure engine coolant system, I plan to add some "high quality" (or I guess the best I can find) STOP-LEAK to ONLY the intercooler circuit. This way, if the stop-leak does reek havoc on my cooling system it will be limited to the I/C circuit (pump, tubing, and the I/C).

If it is still leaking then I plan to purchase a new I/C. I came here to ask you fellas what your opinions are on replacement I/C's. There is an OEM available on PARTS.com for $750 (the best deal I can find so far). But I have heard these can still be prone to premature failure just like the ones that originally came bolted to our cars. I found this thread (http://www.crossfireforum.org/forum/...-got-real.html) and the links still seem good to purchase a newly built one from this fellow.