Suggestion for Board Admins - Member input welcomed

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-11-2011, 04:57 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2008 C63 Sedan
Suggestion for Board Admins - Member input welcomed

Hey guys -

So I introduced myself a while ago - I'm new to MB having been a BMW owner for the last 14 years and having owned 6 different ones. My first Bimmer was a '97 540/6 and I was very active on the roadfly forum which had an excellent community for the e39. Lots of gearheads and a tremendous amount of DIY information.

I realize it was almost 15 years ago, the cars were simpler, hence easier for guys to work on em etc. etc....but there was really a phenomenal amount of DIY info / tips etc. there.

One thing I've noticed that is kind of lacking here is a large amount of DIY stuff with pics. Perhaps it doesn't exist as these cars are more complicated, and many are still under warranty so folks haven't really ventured deeply into DIY territory - or if it does, its just out there on the broader forum requiring repeated searches.

I have a humble suggestion which is the following:

Why don't the mods / admins create a Sticky c63 specific DIY thread with the following features:

1. Central repository for all existing member submitted DIY threads
2. Some kind of mechanism for members to submit / upload new DIY threads

I hope this suggestion doesn't rub anyone the wrong way - just an observation...especially as these cars get older and out of warranty and members start tinkering / doing routine maintenance more themselves, etc...and even for the small mods / tweaks - I think it would be great if all that info was readily available for new members.

Just an example - I'm repeatedly having code P0171 (bank 1 lean) and am pretty sure its the intake manifold gasket - but can't find any pics of how to replace it, or even what needs to be taken apart to get to it - I'm pretty handy so if I had instructions, I could probably tackle it.