C63 AMG (W204) 2008 - 2015

vinyl wrapping trim, grille

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-18-2014, 06:44 PM

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
2018 AMG E63s
Question vinyl wrapping trim, grille

Hi all - did a bit of searching but wanted some C63 specific experience. I've got a black '14 C63 and I'd like to vinyl wrap the silver/chrome plastic trim in 3M 1080 black vinyl. I watched a bunch of videos (some great ones out there) and it doesn't look too hard, but not sure if I should remove the trim (if it's all removable?) or wrap it in place. On the coupe the chrome piece around the door/side windows is a long one, and it looks like it'd be tough to remove. Anyone with advice? Links? Thanks as always
Old 05-19-2014, 12:03 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
C63 507
I removed all of my trim to wrap it. I did this because I wanted to wrap the vinyl behind the trim so there was no seam. I am also new at vinyl so I wanted to make it as easy as I could on myself. The trim around the door sits on these pop tabs. You can use a plastic pry tool or your fingers to pry off and it will pop out of place. To put it back you just pop it back on and it will snap back in.

here is my thread about this recently, it has a video on how to remove the trim around the door:

https://mbworld.org/forums/c63-amg-w...ml#post6023232
Old 05-19-2014, 09:00 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 57 Likes on 46 Posts
2006 E320 CDI 2014 C63 507 Coupe 2012 E550 4M 2016 E63s Wagon
It's best to remove the trim. I've done the coupe; it's probably easier than the sedan since you don't need to take the mirrors off to remove the door trim. For the large trim above the door/side window start at the side closest to the hood and use plastic trim removal tool to pull/pop the trim down - when you get to the rear side window the trim pulls out/away from the car (the trim under the side window pulls out as well).
Old 05-19-2014, 09:49 AM

2018 AMG E63s