Rate Thread

Old 01-19-2015, 06:21 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
A V8
Clean carfax, but no paint?

So here is the car in question.

http://www.fercomotors.com/inventory...GF7HB6BF554595

I personally went to the auction today to inspect it. Headbolts are fine as per the thread above, car has been serviced well, good condition. One problem, the carfax. Says it was hit in rear and had front impact as well.

I go in to inspect, and i cannot find anywhere that has had paintwork. (I paint for a living, so i'am confident in my abilities to spot paintwork) there was 0 sign of refinish work. And it's black, so i know for a fact i wouldn't have missed anything. My question is, how the hell can this be?
Old 01-19-2015, 06:30 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 46 Likes on 41 Posts
2012 C63 AMG Sedan
Originally Posted by solekeeper
So here is the car in question.

http://www.fercomotors.com/inventory...GF7HB6BF554595

I personally went to the auction today to inspect it. Headbolts are fine as per the thread above, car has been serviced well, good condition. One problem, the carfax. Says it was hit in rear and had front impact as well.

I go in to inspect, and i cannot find anywhere that has had paintwork. (I paint for a living, so i'am confident in my abilities to spot paintwork) there was 0 sign of refinish work. And it's black, so i know for a fact i wouldn't have missed anything. My question is, how the hell can this be?
Only thing I can think of was the bumpers were hit and possibly replaced with OEM parts which may or may not theoretically show paint damage? Especially if it happened early on?
Old 01-19-2015, 06:34 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

A V8
Originally Posted by SaphGreyC63
Only thing I can think of was the bumpers were hit and possibly replaced with OEM parts which may or may not theoretically show paint damage? Especially if it happened early on?