Cabin Smell

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-18-2015, 06:09 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
c63 AMG
Cabin Smell

Hi,
I am new to mercedes and now that I am here I am never leaving. I just bought a 2009 C63 AMG and I am in love. Question; I have noticed only a couple of times that when I drive hard that there is a slight exhaust fume smell in the cabin. The a/c is in auto mode with the the air circulation function on. Is this normal? Just thinking now; perhaps while in auto mode the air recirculation may be overridden and canceled and this is why I smell it? Perhaps the occasional smell is normal. Thanks

P.S.
I am not nearly a mechanic but I added two pictures of the back left (facing car) engine corner. The "black box" sitting there is being held by only one clip because the other two broke. Could air be sneaking in through there? I believe the a/c fan is in the opening behind the black box.
Attached Thumbnails Cabin Smell-ss.jpg   Cabin Smell-fg.jpg  

Last edited by shamrode; 06-18-2015 at 06:24 PM.
Old 06-18-2015, 09:48 PM

Received 20 Likes on 20 Posts
09 Carrera S, , 03 F250 CC FX4
Originally Posted by shamrode
Hi,
I am new to mercedes and now that I am here I am never leaving. I just bought a 2009 C63 AMG and I am in love. Question; I have noticed only a couple of times that when I drive hard that there is a slight exhaust fume smell in the cabin. The a/c is in auto mode with the the air circulation function on. Is this normal? Just thinking now; perhaps while in auto mode the air recirculation may be overridden and canceled and this is why I smell it? Perhaps the occasional smell is normal. Thanks

P.S.
I am not nearly a mechanic but I added two pictures of the back left (facing car) engine corner. The "black box" sitting there is being held by only one clip because the other two broke. Could air be sneaking in through there? I believe the a/c fan is in the opening behind the black box.