CL-Class (W216) 2007-Present: CL 500, CL 600

What do you think about the S Coupe Vs the outgoing CL?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-23-2014, 05:53 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 65 Likes on 51 Posts
Cars
What do you think about the S Coupe Vs the outgoing CL?

I have been buying CL 600's since 2000 and the 11-14 are (from what I have been told the rarest of them all). I was told by my dealer that in 2011 and up, only a customer could order a CL 600 not a dealer to stock on his lot. I was told less than 250 units were built from 11-14. Knowing this I decided that it was the one I wanted. I have had mine since March of this year and have to be honest. I have never owned such an amazing car. I love the lines, I love the feel of the car and I just love everything about it. No problems for one, just nothing but pure pleasure and I even had the ECM remapped by a great tuning company. It's Designo Graphite with every option including the Designo interior and 20" wheels. Now, I know they depreciate like a lead balloon but I love the car so much I just don't care. I went to my dealer who gave me first refusal on the 2015 S Coupe Launch Edition and I must say as nice as the car is, it isn't as fine of a car as the out going CL. I love the styling of the new S Coupe and all the new technology but I must tell you, they have really done away with all of the wood and small details. To me the finer cars need wood and lots of it, with attention to detail. I drove the Launch Edition which only comes in one color combination, Black Magnetite with the red and black Designo interior. I loved all the bells and whistles but missed the lack of wood (that comes standard on a base S sedan). I drove the car and to be honest, I wasn't impressed and gave my position for the 1st Launch Edition from my dealership up. I thought long and hard about it and decided that, if I couldn't have a 600 (which I understand they are not planning on making a 600 and doing away with the ABC suspensio