CLK-Class (W208) 1998-2002: CLK 200, CLK 230K, CLK 320, CLK 430 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

can anyone help with window adjustment on a cabrio?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-20-2014, 01:37 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
2002 CLK430
can anyone help with window adjustment on a cabrio?

On the passenger side of my cabrio I am having a strange issue with the window alignment. When the top is up, the windows appear to allign properly. I can roll them up and down, and they seal good, and are in alignment. However, with the top down, if I roll up the windows, the front window overlaps the rear window past the molding. No problem I thought, I'm a mechanic in a past life, I can align these no problem. So upon further inspection I notice the rear window is shifted forward a bit from where it should be. I pull the rear trim and get to work. from what I can tell there are two star bolts that hold the regulator assembly that are slotted that should allow fore/aft adjustment. problem is those bolts are maxed out in the rear direction, so I really cant move the regulator assembly any further.

Question is, am I missing something, or can the window itself possibly be adjusted rearward in the regulator itself?

I think I found all of the adjustment bolts, but maybe I'm missing some.

There seem to be two bolts at teh bottom that push the bottom of the regulator in/out. Then there is one toward teh top with an allen screw in the middle that adjusts teh top of the wndow position in/out. Then these three star bolts toward teh top that allow front/rearward adjustment. There are also two 10mm bolts at teh very top toward teh belt molding that are slotted in/out, but those dont seem to do much at all.