CLK-Class (W208) 1998-2002: CLK 200, CLK 230K, CLK 320, CLK 430 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

New owner... issue with tonneau cover - can you help?

Old 06-26-2014, 02:07 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Z06, CLK55 & CTS-V
New owner... issue with tonneau cover - can you help?

Hi there.

I'm excited to have purchased a low mileage 2002 CLK55 cab. It's in great shape, however it does have an issue that I could use your help with. The issue is that the tonneau cover doesn't go up quite high enough when the top is going up or down, so the leading edge of the top ends up snagging on the latch on the tonneau cover. If I let go of the button and get out of the car and nudge the cover back, everything is fine, but that's not terribly convenient!

I am really new to this car and power convertible tops in general (my previous convertible was a miata and it had a manual top). I spoke with someone from TopHydraulics, but he wasn't feeling well, so the conversation ended before I got to understand what he was suggesting could be wrong. The gist of what he said was that I might need to bend something, but I wasn't sure what to bend.

In any event, can you help me with this?
Old 06-26-2014, 08:31 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 190 Likes on 170 Posts
2001 CLK320 Cabrio
Top-Hydraulics has been both a tremendous forum sponsor and resource to the MB community. In addition his rebuilding services in the hydraulic area, Klaus has unselflessly provided guidance and helped numerous individuals with unrelated matters, to his core business.

The MB power roof system is very complex and sooner or later, something will fail on these 10 - 15 year old models.

Besides a controller, one or more of the 7 hydraulic cylinder develops a leak, or one of the more than a dozen position/limit switches fail. Other common issues have been the pump relay, tensioner cables and broken or frayed wiring. Additionally, the power window and roll-bar systems must be 100% functional.