CLK-Class (W208) 1998-2002: CLK 200, CLK 230K, CLK 320, CLK 430 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

Soft Top Questions and Problems

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-09-2016, 04:53 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
MB CLK200 Convertible 1990 A208
Soft Top Questions and Problems

Hi together,

first I want to introduce myself. My name is Joerg (it is a German form from "George"), living in the middle of Germany. I am a new CLK-owner and found this forum by searching for hints, which help to get my soft top working again.

Something about my background. I am a mechanical engineer and like to understand the working of mechanism. And the soft top mechanism is a very interesting thing.

I know, there are many threats about soft top problems and I hope, I read all but now there are more and more questions in my head. Perhaps I find the solution and may add a "how to" to help other people in this case.

I am sorry, but my English is not good, but I hope I can describe my problems in the right way.

I bought the car with a faulty roof, thinking it is easy to fix. This may have been a fault but it is a challenge.

A short description of the roof opening process in my car:

- Turning key to position 2
- Use handle and open the roof front part -> roof switch (S84) lights constantly red, windows are going down
- Pulling the roof switch -> hydraulic starts and headrests are going down
- When headrests are down -> you see the fabric bow is pulled down a little bit.

Then the process is stopping, nothing happens further on. The hydraulic keeps on running as long I pull the switch.

When I press the switch, I get a short signal (may be the "finish closing signal") and when you lock the front roof part with the handle, the switch light goes out. When you press the switch longer, the windows and the headrest are going up.