CLK-Class (W209) 2003 on: CLK 270 CDI, CLK 200K, CLK 200 CGI, CLK 240, CLK 320, CLK 350, CLK 500, CLK 550 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

Worst Monday Ever

Old 11-29-2015, 10:07 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 110 Likes on 101 Posts
2008 CLK550 Cab
Just happened to come across this issue in another forum today - E55 maybe - anyway, the problem always seems to be Forgstar related. People say that Forgstars are not hubcentric, and the people affected did not use the adapters to make them fit the hub, thus putting all the load on the bolts.
Old 11-30-2015, 04:55 AM

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
2007 BMW 550i
i suspect thats the problem too, take a picture of the rim from the inside and measure the inside bore.
Old 11-30-2015, 06:35 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
W209(sold), W212, X204
Originally Posted by mis3
To the OP, are you going to complain to Forgestar? Not sure if over-tighten would snap the lugs in halves.

By the way, I have been using the original lugs for my w209 for 11 years. Is there a schedule to replace these lugs?
I thought about doing that since everything seems to be pointing towards the cheap bolts i was supplied with. Not sure how much of a case I would have though since there are a handful of factors which might cause something like this to happen.
Old 11-30-2015, 07:00 AM

W209(sold), W212, X204
Originally Posted by Yidney
Just happened to come across this issue in another forum today - E55 maybe - anyway, the problem always seems to be Forgstar related. People say that Forgstars are not hubcentric, and the people affected did not use the adapters to make them fit the hub, thus putting all the load on the bolts.