CLK-Class (W209) 2003 on: CLK 270 CDI, CLK 200K, CLK 200 CGI, CLK 240, CLK 320, CLK 350, CLK 500, CLK 550 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

DIY: Replace oil cooler assembly

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-20-2016, 08:58 AM

Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts
15' CLS400
DIY: Replace oil cooler assembly

I don't usually post DIY's. I'm not a mechanic, just a handy guy, here goes...

You’ll need:
New oil cooler (comes with new oil filter preinstalled)
Part: 272-180-05-10
http://www.shopmercedesbmwonline.com...enz/2721800510
New gallon of MB coolant
New belt (if you want to replace that too)
E12 Torx socket
E8 torx socket
8mm socket
10mm deep socket
17mm socket and long handle wrench
Socket wrench and extensions
Catch basin
Bunch of rags
Philips screwdriver or something to shove into the belt tensioner

Time: Allow 3 hours, took me 2.5

Modifications from WIS:
WIS says to drain and remove the power steering reservoir to the right of the oil cooler. I have no idea why because that is not in the way at all.
WIS says to remove the radiator hose, instead I loosened the connector and left it in place
WIS says to remove the radiator fan, I left it on and it wasn’t in the way at all.
WIS says to remove the oil filter. If you haven’t run the car since the day prior don’t bother removing it. Nothing even dripped from mine when I removed it and the new one has the filter already installed.

Note: Removing the oil cooler would be a cake job if it wasn’t for the top bolt being hidden behind the coolant hose connector and the bottom bolt being hidden by the belt tensioner. These are the two main problems to deal with.

1: Remove the belt, belt tensioner and other belt fly wheel to the left of it.