CLK55 AMG, CLK63 AMG (W208, W209) 2000 - 2010 (Two Generations)

W209 clk55 ecu problems

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-14-2016, 04:41 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2003 clk 55
W209 clk55 ecu problems

Well guys I own a 2003 clk55 that had a check engine light for the charcoal canister I had that and the purge valve replaced at $660. My mechanic called and said the wires coming from the car going to the charcoal canister looked damaged and had grounded possibly damaging my ecu, he recommended I take it to the dealer to make sure. Sure enough the dealer confirms the ecu is not communicating with the charcoal canister and charged me $200. $1600 for a new ecu at the dealer plus programming. They gave me a part number but when I called to confirm I was ordering the right part they informed me the used ecu might not be able to be programmed to my car. I have zero knowledge on how these Ecu's work if anybody could give me a hand it would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by cobrab19; 04-14-2016 at 04:46 PM. Reason: Adding word
Old 04-15-2016, 12:00 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 98 Likes on 88 Posts
2002 CLK 55 AMG cabriolet Eurocharged
The Purge valve opens at cruise speeds to vent the fuel tank of vapors. A faulty gas cap can cause all of the inherent problems described above.

If the only problem is the purge circuit and all other engine functions are normal consider taking it to a Euro auto electric shop for wiring repairs if you do not do work on it yourself.

Mitsubishi, and some others are noted for Dead ECU after input damage, Not Benz

ECU is the Electronics control unit that contains the main micro-processor. The ECU communicates with all of the other systems that control functions in the car.

Cheers, Gator
Old 04-15-2016, 12:12 PM

2003 clk 55
Originally Posted by GatorMB
The Purge valve opens at cruise speeds to vent the fuel tank of vapors. A faulty gas cap can cause all of the inherent problems described above.