E-Class Coupe (C207) & Cabrio (A207) 2010-: E250CDI Coupe, E350 Coupe, E350CDI Coupe, E500 Coupe, E550 Coupe [Coupes & Cabriolets]

Looking for E550 advice

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-01-2014, 03:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Flexible Flyer
Looking for E550 advice

I'm considering buying a 2012 E550 coupe, but I'm a Mercedes noob and would appreciate any advice. I was hoping people here might be able to give me an idea if there are any potential problems to be aware of. For example, the turbos fall apart at 50k miles, or whatever. Also, what kind of costs should I expect for maintenance, both for routine service and otherwise? Is an oil change going to cost me $200? Thanks for any info.
Old 09-01-2014, 06:50 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
'12 E550C, Sierra Denali
Our '12 E550 coupe has about 30,000 miles and has been trouble-free.
No $200.00 oil changes, but check with your local Mercedes dealer because prices may vary.

It's a great vehicle with much power and surprisingly good mileage: if you drive leisurely.
We use Michelin PSS: 245/35ZR18 front and 255/35ZR18 (original rears tend to wear, which the Michelin's reduced).

Last edited by Dueclaws; 09-01-2014 at 06:52 PM.
Old 09-01-2014, 07:42 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 407 Likes on 336 Posts
MB’s
E550

Originally Posted by mmiller14
I'm considering buying a 2012 E550 coupe, but I'm a Mercedes noob and would appreciate any advice. I was hoping people here might be able to give me an idea if there are any potential problems to be aware of. For example, the turbos fall apart at 50k miles, or whatever. Also, what kind of costs should I expect for maintenance, both for routine service and otherwise? Is an oil change going to cost me $200? Thanks for any info.

No the oil changes are not $200! They can run sub $100 if you choose to DIY or take it to a indi shop.

As far as MPG when I test drove one I was getting close to 27mpg highway. Pretty good for a powerful and heavy car.