E-Class Coupe (C207) & Cabrio (A207) 2010-: E250CDI Coupe, E350 Coupe, E350CDI Coupe, E500 Coupe, E550 Coupe [Coupes & Cabriolets]

New member/New A207/Want new wheels!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-10-2015, 07:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2012 E550 Cabrio
New member/New A207/Want new wheels!

I just bought a silver 2012 E550 Cabrio (I love it) and want to make some mods, which I've never done before, and wanted a tip on wheels.
I'm having the resonator removed this week.
I'm having the calipers painted.

Wheels: I don't want to buy expensive oem wheels so I'm looking at after markets.
What brand do you recommend? I've heard some after markets rattle and easily chip. True??
Or would I be better off having the oem wheels powder coated??

Last edited by Kamtrac; 05-10-2015 at 07:21 PM.
Old 05-10-2015, 08:05 PM

2012 E550 Coupe
I went with new wheels because I wanted better rear traction. So stocks would not have accomplished that.

No problem with after market wheels if you get good wheels.

You could go a few ways depending on what you want and what your budget is.

1. Go cheap replicas and just replace cheaply when they get bent or damaged.

2. I hear (no experience) you can get good quality replicas. So cost a little more, don't get bent as easy, but still affordable.

3. Go with a good wheel manufacture and get custom offsets and hub centric rims. More expensive, but you get perfect fitment. Prices range from each manufacture, as do designs and wheel weights.
-- lots of vendors on here that can help you with wheel options based on your budget.

So if you want more traction, go with 19's or wider 18's, but if you are ok with current traction keep the stock rims or refinish to a colour you like. Lots of options but it all comes down to what you want.

Keep us posted on what you decide!

Last edited by venom_55; 05-10-2015 at 08:08 PM.
Old 05-10-2015, 08:37 PM

2012 E550 Cabrio