E-Class (W123) 1976-1986: 240D, 280E, 300D, 300TD, 300CD

500000 mile 1984 300td

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-20-2013, 12:13 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
300td
500000 mile 1984 300td

I was hoping to get some advice on a possible buy. Tomorrow I will be checking out a 1984 300td with an odometer that stopped at 150000. The owner believes the actual amount is around 500000. The car has been well maintained as far as I know. Current owner is very knowledgeable about the car and before him it was owned by a Benz mechanic. I have two main questions. First, how reasonable is his asking price of 2200? Other than the high miles the car is in pretty good condition. Most electronics working, good body, etc. I feel it's a good deal but I'm also a newb. Second, I plan on taking the car to a mechanic before any purchase. I know to get the engine compression checked, but are there any other specific things I should ask?

Thanks in advance to anyone willing to help me out on this.

Posted from Mbworld.org App for Android
Old 03-20-2013, 04:52 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 408 Likes on 336 Posts
MB’s
wow 500,000 miles!!! You need to get a PPI inspection at a good mercedes indi shop. With that many miles lord knows what needs to be replaced and hopfully it has all records there.
Engine compression
A/C for leaks and to see if it even works.
Starting and shutting it off.
Exhaust
All electricals
interior to see what may need to be replaced
Transmission! Makes sure it shifts smooth!
Rust
Rust
and more rust! That is a huge W123 downfall so make sure it has none or little.
Pretty much take as long as you need to go thru the ENTIRE car from inside and out.
For $2,200 I think it all varies on the car itself. There is not a real market price set on these cars being so old so its really worth whatever you are willing to pay.
Old 03-20-2013, 08:10 PM

300td
Wink