E-Class (W124) 1984-1995: E 260, E 300, E 320, E 420, E 500 (Includes CE, T, TD models)

Windshield washer reservoir

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-17-2010, 12:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1989 300E
Exclamation Windshield washer reservoir

Help !! I have an 89 300E which I have been trying to rehab back to some of its former glory. I am a newbie here but have been reading all the posts for the last several months. I am a decent backyard mechanic, but am much more familiar with American or Japanese cars.

Here is the problem, I was at a local junk yard (SoCal) finding goodies I know I need to replace and grabbed a working windshield wiper reservoir pump. I was about to install my excellent find when I opened the reservoir to see it full of hot green fluid. Now let me tell you I just replaced my leaking radiator about two weeks ago, but didn’t notice then that it appears the coolant is in the washer fluid.

Is this common? Do the heating elements usually leak? Does anyone have a good suggestion on how to bypass the two heater lines or repair the heater tube? Any and all suggestions welcome as I want to get this newest quirk fixed ASAP as I don’t want to harm my new radiator.
Old 01-17-2010, 01:12 PM

1992 300ce
Mine wasn't leaking but living in SoCal myself didn't see the need for heated washer fluid, besides the tank just acts as a heatsink anyways. I just bypassed mine. Many diff ways to do it, I just happened to have a piece of 5/16" stainless tubing which I bent into a U shape and slightly flared the ends and installed with two hose clamps. Good luck.
Mike
Old 01-18-2010, 10:32 PM

1989 300E
Ongoing saga

Thanks for the bypass advise. I went and got an adapter to bypass the two lines around the windshield washer tank. (Looking for one is it's own story)