E-Class (W124) 1984-1995: E 260, E 300, E 320, E 420, E 500 (Includes CE, T, TD models)

Deciphering codes, possible IM harness?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-31-2015, 05:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'93 300E 3.2
Deciphering codes, possible IM harness?

Since I bought my new to me w124, Its had a bit of a rough idle, but runs and drive fantastically off idle. It surges/ pulses as if it has a vacuum leak. I picked up one of "ricks scanners" (a blink type scanner) and pulled the codes just now. In looking at how much they vary, I'm curious as to whether or not I have just a bunch of little issues, or potentially one root cause.

I have to admit, I tend to prefer Japanese made vehicles, and the w124 is almost like chinese to me. That being said, I'm a competent mechanic and really just looking for some seasoned opinions before I dive in. (also its ~ 3*F outside right now, So i'd like to spend as little time dicking around with it outside as possible :P )

first, A bit of info about the vehicle. It is a 1993 300E, m104, 3.2L, RWD, AT with 167k.

The codes I pulled are:

6 - 3, 5, 8 (air bag codes, not all that concerned with them ATM..)
8 - 4, 13
14 - 3, 5, 11

Which breaks down to
8-4: Load Sensor in EAL/AKR control module faulty
8-13: Full load contact does not open
14-3: Cruise control/ Idle speed control actuator
14-5: Stop lamp switch (third brake light is out, Will this set this code?
14-11: Fuel Safety Shut off to LF-SFI control module

SRS codes
6-3: Driver Airbag Squib
6-5: Airbag/ETR, Driver seat belt buckle switch
6-8: Voltage supply interrupted