E-Class (W210) 1995-2002: E 200, E 220D, E 240, E 290TD, E 300TD, E 200, E 240, E 280, E 320, E 420, E 430 (Wagon, Touring, 4Matic)

1999 e320 Lots of Power Problems

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-05-2014, 12:58 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1999 e320
1999 e320 Lots of Power Problems

My power driver seat/ steering wheel adjuster/ driver-side window + side mirrors/sunroof all are currently unresponsive(seat/mirror/side-mirror only not working on driver side; works everywhere else). My remote key also won't lock/unlock the doors (key batteries are fine, red light blinks; tried holding key next to door handle but still nothing).

This is my first car and I'm a real newbie at this. I did some research and I think I need to check the fuses. Someone said to disconnect 1 at a time and test if the specific function works. I don't even know where the fuses are at this point. Do I need to have the car on to do this? Someone else also recommended to just reset the battery and resync after. How do I go about resetting the batteries?

Another suggestion was to reconnect the driver side door control module. Does this mean I have to take off the door panels?

Sorry for all the questions. I'm just really lost and not sure where to start diagnosing this. Thanks in advance
Old 10-05-2014, 01:12 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 164 Likes on 149 Posts
99 E320
check the STICKYs at the top of the 210 forum over on Benzworld.org for many DIY, FAQs etc
Old 10-05-2014, 08:51 PM
Out Of Control!!

Received 1,019 Likes on 947 Posts
1999 E300TD
The stickies are great when you know what is the problem----The quickest way to start is to define the specific electrical problems-----that is done through a quick test or a scan!! Then solve the issues yourself with parts and your labor!!
Old 10-05-2014, 11:25 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 19 Likes on 19 Posts
98 Brilliant Silver E320 Wagon