722.9 refill apparatus and questions answered

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-18-2015, 10:11 AM

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Current: 2007 E350 P1 and P2
722.9 refill apparatus and questions answered

Good morning, all.

Well, as you may know I'm fairly new to the W211 area with my recently acquired 2007 E350 that had only 32k miles on it at 8 years old. I'm changing all the fluids now, and today's job is the transmission.

In reading the various posts on the overall forum I wasn't clear on what size socket I'd need to turn the crank pulley and in so doing find the drain plug on the torque converter. One guy with an AMG model had a 33mm pulley nut, and in another post a guy with a C300 said his was something like 24mm. I thought I'd report here that on my 2007 E class 350 the crankshaft pulley takes a 27mm socket. That one socket was six bucks or so at the parts store, vs buying a set of jumbo metrics for $50 or more. Instead of buying a half inch breaker bar I picked up a length of galvanized pipe at Home Depot to slip over my ratchet handle. I'll report how that works.

Now, as to what sort of apparatus for refilling, here's what I've put together:

I had read in another post that someone had success using a Motive brake bleeder, so I unscrewed the tube leading to the brake reservoir cap, which left me with a hose and a fitting (circled in red). The question then was what diameter is that fitting and what diameter tube should I use? Here's the answer for my Motive brake bleeder: it's a 1/4" threaded fitting, which means 1/4" hose as well.