E-Class (W212) 2010 - 2016: E 350, E 550

Share your worst car day ever stories

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-31-2014, 10:01 AM

Received 34 Likes on 26 Posts
2012 E350 sedan
Share your worst car day ever stories

Was reading HifiDude's story and, while I sympathize, it's not very high on my worst car day ever list. So let's share some tales of woe. I'll provide 2.

First, the E350m is my wife's car as I have been driving Audi TT roadsters since 2001. I bought my newest TT about 2 years ago. I had it about 2 months and parked in the street in front of a friend's house in a suburban housing development. As I was walking to his door I heard a crash. A bozo up the street was driving his pick-up backwards and plowed into my parked car, crushing the front end back to the radiator! His truck was equipped with a back-up collision warning sensor but since he could not see anything out his rear window (that was half obscured by a tool chest), he assumed it was a malfunction and kept on going. $8K in damage, thankfully no frame damage, and I had to sue him (and won) for $7K in diminished value. He was backing up because he was too lazy to do a 3 point turn to get to the nearby intersection.