E-Class (W212) 2010 - 2016: E 350, E 550

E Class or BMW?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-29-2014, 09:39 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
volvo 960
E Class or BMW?

So I'm new to luxury cars and want to replace my trusted Volvo wagon with a new E350 wagon. My very well off friend is trying to turn me away from MB. He drives a 750 IL along with a Maserati, his brother had a Maybach and GL550. Both had major issues and the GL went died on a NJ expressway that was later bought back by MB.
Granted some cars are lemons but they really want me to look at BMW as they claim fewer problems but the 3 series wagon is to small.
What should I do? Look at the X-5 or continue my dream of owning a MB! Thanks for your thoughts!
Old 11-29-2014, 10:20 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
e550
Which one do you prefer to drive? Base your decision on a long test drive or several long test drives. Car Max is a good place to drive different brands back to back. You can also get a real sense of how they hold up walking the lots there and looking at the older ones that have higher miles.
Old 11-29-2014, 10:33 AM

volvo 960
wanderflake, thanks I really prefer the MB. We did a test drive on a 2015 wagon and it took a week to get the smile off my face!!!!! Looking at high milage cars is a good idea. My thoughts are to keep this 6-8 yrs. bob
Old 11-29-2014, 10:43 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
e350
An X5 is no wagon. If you are looking for reliability from the X5, thats almost laughable.
Old 11-29-2014, 10:50 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
e550
Originally Posted by ph350
An X5 is no wagon. If you are looking for reliability from the X5, thats almost laughable.
Glad you said it instead of me. i though I would pass in case the OP went that direction. Now it is out there.
Old 11-29-2014, 11:01 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 143 Likes on 102 Posts
2010 E350 Luxury Sedan, Engine 272 (V6)