w212 2012 e350 4Matic Road Noise 60+ MPH

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-27-2016, 09:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2012 e350 4Matic
w212 2012 e350 4Matic Road Noise 60+ MPH

Hi to all.

I have been battling with a specific noise since I purchased my 2012 e350 4Matic. The dealer I purchased from did not change the tires and only after purchasing the vehicle I noticed a bad rattling noise at high speeds. Turns out the tire had a bulge in it... Sooo, I ended up purchasing new set of Kumho Solus TA71 tires as I was told these were the best for road noise and comfort. I still experienced hard to describe noise that almost sounds like a helicopter at 60+ mph speeds. Took it to the dealer multiple times and they told me nothing is wrong that I need new tires. Ended up returning the Kumho's and purchased a set of Continental pure contact tires. I thought this would resolve the issue, but it is still present at high speeds and mainly occurs on smooth roads. Am I overly sensitive? I owned a 2009 C300 4Matic, 2005 E500 and never experienced this noise I am getting. I took it in again to the Mercedes dealership and again they told me nothing is wrong. It almost sounds like overly aggressive rotating and almost excessive thread noise, maybe even like a very quick tapping noise.

I am confused and have found no resolution to this issue and it's really getting to me. Smooth roads is really when I hear it and of course on highways when I am consistently going over 60mph. I asked my Benz dealership to check for any bad bearings, but they confirmed that nothing is wrong with the bearings. This is 2 sets of brand new tires making the same noise.

Anyone have some insight and experience on why this could be happening? I do appreciate it.
Old 06-27-2016, 09:53 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 1,616 Likes on 1,186 Posts
2014 E550-sold 😩