GL Class (X164) 2007-2012: GL320CDI, GL420CDI, GL450, GL550

Heat related loose rear view mirror in 2007 GL450

Old 09-02-2012, 02:11 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2007 GL450
Heat related loose rear view mirror in 2007 GL450

Hi, I'm a newbie poster (although I have been on the posts quite a while). Question: my 2007 GL450 rear view mirror gets super loose in the heat (is fine in the cold). Has anyone heard of this problem before? I am trying to take it off and have the two plastic pieces off exposing the bast of the mirror. Any advice on how I take the actual mirror off? Or is there any point, in that is the mirror broken?

I have searched the forums as best I can but can't seem to find any clear guidance on taking the mirror off. Some threads mention sheer force but that makes me nervous. If there is a thread that describes this process for the 2007 GL450, please just advise and I shall not waste any more time.

I thank anyone in advance who can provide any guidance.
Old 07-25-2019, 02:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2007 GL320 CDI
Heat related loose mirror in 2007 GL320 / GL450

Hi:
I do not have any guidance on this, but the same issue. Reviving topic seeking input.

Thanks!

Originally Posted by GLinBC
Hi, I'm a newbie poster (although I have been on the posts quite a while). Question: my 2007 GL450 rear view mirror gets super loose in the heat (is fine in the cold). Has anyone heard of this problem before? I am trying to take it off and have the two plastic pieces off exposing the bast of the mirror. Any advice on how I take the actual mirror off? Or is there any point, in that is the mirror broken?

I have searched the forums as best I can but can't seem to find any clear guidance on taking the mirror off. Some threads mention sheer force but that makes me nervous. If there is a thread that describes this process for the 2007 GL450, please just advise and I shall not waste any more time.

Old 07-25-2019, 03:24 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!