GLK-Class (X204) Produced 2008-2014

2015 GLK 250 delivery and break in

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-18-2015, 08:48 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
n/a

Don't want to wait the GLC expecially no diesel version available in MY16, so decided to go for GLk250 (Still like it's looking more than GLC).
I'm new to MB and diesel, anything should I be aware of when I pick up my new car? Does diesel vehicle needs any special attention than gasoline version in the break in period?

Last edited by hiker007; 07-18-2015 at 09:11 AM.
Old 07-18-2015, 09:15 AM

Received 60 Likes on 52 Posts
2015 GLK350
I think the manual mentions keeping the speed and revs down for a period of 500 or so miles - have a look in the manual.

The first few times the car runs through the emissions regeneration cycle it may produce a bad smell like burning rubber. This is normal and it is worst when the car is new.

Short trips and short commutes will trigger the regen cycle more often. Diesel's like longer trips over 10-15 miles so they can warm up properly with highway speeds preffered.

The longer the trip and the steadier your speed the better milage you will get.

Find a few fuel stations that sell diesel and are busy. The more diesel they sell the fresher it is and the less chance of sediment, etc. The gasbuddy phone app can help - if prices for diesel update frequently it probably has fresher diesel.

It is not much different than driving a gas vehicle except you don't need to fill it up as often.

Last edited by formerjeepguy; 07-18-2015 at 09:16 AM. Reason: Added break in.
Old 07-18-2015, 09:58 AM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
2011 Porsche 997.2, 2015 GLK250, 2009 Sierra 2500HD Diesel
The break-in period is 1500km (900mi).

Just as important as keeping revs down during break-in is varying the revs as you drive. Pick routes that allow you to run up and down through the rev range, rather than sitting at a constant speed for prolonged periods.