M-Class (W163) Produced 1998-2005: ML 230, ML 320, ML 350, ML 400 CDI, ML 430, ML 500, ML 270 CDI

DIY HID Light Install Guide

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-23-2014, 01:45 PM

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
'13 M5 | 08 C300 (Sold)
Lightbulb DIY HID Light Install Guide

Hey guys,
So I thought I'd write a quick guide for people that want to install HID lights on their W163 ML's. I'm not a professional shop guy, I just like keeping my ML looking and running good.
Before I start out, I'll like to say that this is still a work in progress and I'll keep adding on to it when I get time.

Total time for both installations was about an hour.

The HID Conversion Kit I used:
http://visionbulbs.com/vb_product.php

What you need:
-Flashlight/ iPhone 5s flashlight
-Power Drill
-1 inch hole saw

Instructions (I would do passenger side first because there is more room on that side)
1) Remove headlight cover and old light bulb (I recommend keeping the old light bulb just in case)
2) With this kit that I used, you had to drill a 1 inch hole in the back casing for the wires to lead into light bulb housing. Use the 1 inch hole-saw and drill a hole into the back of the case.
3) Run the light bulb through the hole and secure it to the case. Make sure the seal is tight all the way around. If it isn't, this will cause water to leak into the head light giving you that water affect in the inside of the headlight.
4) Head back to the truck and remove the blub from its casing and insert it into the bulb housing. It should work with the old factory clamps but it might take a little bit of effort to get it to secure tightly.
5) Time to find a place to mount the ballast. I personally zip tied it to a wire below the head light but each W136 will be different so use best judgment on where to mount the ballast.