M-Class (W163) Produced 1998-2005: ML 230, ML 320, ML 350, ML 400 CDI, ML 430, ML 500, ML 270 CDI

Lowest Drop: Eibach or H&R ? Conflicting info

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-13-2014, 12:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
E500 Sport
Lowest Drop: Eibach or H&R ? Conflicting info

I have a lot of experience with both brands and rule of thumb is that H&R is typically more aggressive in both stance and ride quality. However, based on the manufacturer's sites, Eibach shows a lower drop. Yet on the other hand searching the forums H&R seems to provide the lowest drop? (which is what I would assume anyway based on my experience)

Who here has first hand experience with both springs on an ML?
Which one is lower?

I am looking for the lowest drop and don't care about ride quality since the vehicle will only be used for marketing and not driven at all.

It will be wrapped in advertising, large 22" wheels, lowered, etc... It will be mostly parked and short drives.

Also, to lower the front ride height via torsion bars, do I loosen to lower and tighten to raise?

I couldn't find any specific info via search. I've done this before on another truck Years ago and just can't remember.

Thanks in advance!
Old 05-13-2014, 04:31 PM
PTE
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
05 ML-500 , 03 CLK5.5 AMG has left the Garage
ML drop

I've done it a few times. What would be nice to know is what year & Model ML do you have. ? Springs & Shock vary from model & year. The front drop is easy. Counter clockwise rotation the adjuster bolts will drop it down , but the drop is limited , due to the shock stroke , extended length , compressed length , The bump stop is on the shaft and it can be trimmed. You may try Ford Lighting front shocks . Monroe reflex. The lower mount hole needs to be drilled out with a 9/16ths drill bit, and you will need to transfer some of the MB OE bushings. Monroe shock P/N 911133 you need 2.