M-Class (W163) Produced 1998-2005: ML 230, ML 320, ML 350, ML 400 CDI, ML 430, ML 500, ML 270 CDI

First Benz! First SUV! My new-to-me ML430!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-27-2015, 12:33 PM

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts
2012 G550, 2018 AMG GTR, 2020 Sprinter 2500
First Benz! First SUV! My new-to-me ML430!

Hello everyone!

I'm a long time Bimmer guy, who has recently defected over to the Mercedes-Benz side of things for a bit! I'm very active on M5Board and 5-Series.net with many DIY's and YouTube videos documenting my repairs and services. I'm a hobbyist / borderline Bimmer Tech! I'm hoping I'll be able to contribute to this forum as well, as I explore my new to me 2001 ML430.

I purchased the car two days ago from the 3rd owner. She's in fair condition outside and good condition in, but with many little issues that I suppose added up to the previous owner deciding to sell. All in all, I took her home for $3800 with just 100K miles on the clock. This is supposed to be my budget build daily driver for bad weather and knocking about. So, I'm trying to keep all the MX on a shoestring!

The car has the 3rd row seating option, Navigation, front and rear push guards and side running rails. It even had LCD's in the headrests (lol...). Other than that, it also came with:

A passenger seat that didn't move/work (fixed $free$ - found a cable unplugged under the seat!)

A driver side door pocket that had separated and fallen into the door (fixed $free$ - a little Gorilla Glue went a long way!

A passenger side wing mirror missing it's plastic cover (fixed $free$ - car came with yet-to-be installed LIGHTED replacements, lol. Now I'm signaling in style! )

A passenger side broken cupholder (also fixed free, more gorilla glue lol)

Wet front passenger and driver floorboards (fixed free - driver side and passenger side sunroof drains were gunky, cleared them with my dish soap / weed whacker filament / compressed air combination attack!)