Performance Upgrades & Tuning Discuss general performance and tuning enhancements for your Mercedes-Benz.

Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Supersprint

Upgrading Headlamp Bulbs

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-22-2014, 12:48 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2000 Mercedes Benz E320
Upgrading Headlamp Bulbs

So! It's as the title says. I'm looking to upgrade my headlight bulbs as the second-cheapest option to improve visibility (which isn't nearly as great as I'd like, even after attempting to restore them).

Now, I'm still extremely new to cars and I can only Google so many things. I got this car used, without a manual, and I'm struggling to figure out how many bulbs I'd need to get, what types, and if there's really a difference between the high and low beam bulbs.

So:

1) When replacing bulbs, will I need to replace low, high (is there a difference?), and fog light bulbs?
2) Would I be able to use xenon bulbs, or should I stick to halogen?
Old 07-25-2014, 07:45 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
W201 190E 3.0 M103
Assuming you have the euro halogen lights and not the american sealed beams...
The wiring is for 60/55w H4 main and 55w H3 fog lights. I've heard people complaining about 100/55w H4 upgrade has burned out their wiring, but I've had these in mine for a few weeks without trouble, they're not very expensive globes. I previously had a pair of blue tinted 60/55w that were brighter than stock just because the whiter light penetrated better than yellowish stock light, they didn't have increased candlepower or anything.

There is a Phillips Extreme Vision 60/55 +100 (claimed +100% lighting over normal halogens) which has good reviews for increased brightness without stressing the wiring, but these are expensive globes. I believe they could be xenon-filled halogens which is a hybrid, and they're also slightly blue tinted for a whiter light. These I believe have increased candlepower over stock but run the same wattage.