S-Class (W126) 1979-1991: 300 SE, 300 SEL, 380 SE, 380 SEL, 420 SEL, 500 SEL, 560 SEL, 360 SEC, 500 SEC, 580 SEC, 300 SD TURBODIESEL, 300 SDL TURBO, 350 SD TURBO, 350 SDL TURBO

Clicking Negine Noise in '91 560SEC

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-05-2008, 07:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1991 560 SEC
Clicking Engine Noise in '91 560SEC

Hello all - I am not only new to the forum - I'm also new to MB vehicles. But I've owned a few Land Rovers, so I am very familiar with tempermnental vehicles!

I've owned my 560 for a few months now. There were a few issues when I bought it - mainly superficial (sunroof didn't work and neither did the crusie control or power mirror). All is fixed except the mirror.

I've enjoyed this car (maybe too much - I've already gotten a 100+mph ticket - back road by myself....except for the county officer) - it is a fantastic driver and so comfortable considering the year. It only had 77K when I bought it so I felt good about the mileage on an older car.

Well in the last couple of weeks I noticed a knock/click coming from the drivers side in the engine. Thought it was an injector - but I had the fuel system cleaned after I bought it and it checked out great. Ran some injector cleaner through it last week and nothing changed. The car idles fine - no misses or rough starts. Everything seems to be OK mechanicaly - fluids check out OK and no odd coloration.

I did pull off the rear resonator though (wanted a deeper sound - come to find out it didn't make much different except at start) - and I thought maybe I had cracked the exhaust or something like this. But it sounds like it's a "lifter" or something like that. But trying to listen with the old "broom stick" method produces no specific location of the sound...any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Jeremy

Last edited by jhusen; 02-06-2008 at 12:23 PM.
Old 02-05-2008, 09:56 PM

W126 420sel 1986
the sound at the road or in park you hear it because it make all the deference