S-Class (W126) 1979-1991: 300 SE, 300 SEL, 380 SE, 380 SEL, 420 SEL, 500 SEL, 560 SEL, 360 SEC, 500 SEC, 580 SEC, 300 SD TURBODIESEL, 300 SDL TURBO, 350 SD TURBO, 350 SDL TURBO

Frustrated. 88 300SEL Low Idle and Stall

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-04-2014, 04:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1988 300SEL
Unhappy Frustrated. 88 300SEL Low Idle and Stall

Hey everyone. I'm a newbie. And I need some serious help (single mom, no money left, help!)
I was recently able to get my hands on an 88 300SEL for $800. At the time I purchased it, the lady said it was a daily driver for her son. I test drove it, and it ran pretty great but needed brakes terribly.

I found an invoice in the car recently that showed this lady had put $1500+ of new parts on it (including fuel filter, full tune up).

When my friend came to get the car to do the brakes, he called me a few days into it (it took him days because of his busy work schedule). He said the car was stalling. It blew my mind because it had never stalled with me. The idle was always perfect (at 800) and it had plenty of power.

So, he took it to a German Auto Repair place, and they apparently adjusted the fuel/air mix, put a new spark plug in cylinder 6, and put a new battery in.

Long story short, they adjusted the fuel/air mix wrong. It was down to 2.0. That was since fixed as of yesterday, and the car started right up... but heres the issue I'm having now....

The idle is low (500) at startup, and lowers on its own to 200, and then the car stalls. The idle lowers even more when I depress the brake. I have to power-brake in order to keep the car turned on at stop signs/red lights. When I accelerate from a stop, the car barely moves (I mean, ppl are honking and cursing at me its so slow lol), and then suddenly, at random intervals the car gets power again and hauls butt. When I'm finally up to interstate speed, I never lose power again until I slow back down to stop, and if I don't power brake, it stalls.