2010 GL450 Airmatic problem

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-30-2016, 09:54 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2010 GL450
2010 GL450 Airmatic problem

Hi,

I am a newbie here but have been reading this forum for a few years now.

I have a 2010 GL450 with about 80k on it. I recently replaced the front left air shock because that corner was hanging low and when I checked it out I found a big hole in the air bag. I bought a replacement from Arnot and the installation went pretty smooth.

I drove it for about a week with no problems but now the "malfuntion" message comes up for the airmatic. If I start the car and immediately raise and lower the car it will sometime not throw the code, other times it will. At startup I hear the compressor running although I dont see much movement of either end and then it times out after 30 seconds or so and throws the code. I have checked for a leak on the new airbag and the connector and everything seems fine there.

The car seems to be sitting level and good, sometimes the suspension will feel "mushy" when driving it with the "malfuntion" code and other times it feels fine.

I have read that the compressor can fail after a hole in one of the airbags because it has to run excessively to try and maintain pressure. However, it seems to be running OK until the system times out - almost like it turns off because it cannot maintain whatever pressure it is supposed to run at.

I tried to read the OBDII (with a generic scanner) and there is no code being sent, it resets everytime the ignition is turned off.

Can anyone suggest any troubleshooting tips? I hate to buy a compressor to find out it is something else.

Thanks in advance,

Rich
Old 08-30-2016, 02:13 PM
Out Of Control!!

Received 1,019 Likes on 947 Posts
1999 E300TD