GL Class (X166) 2013-2015 after facelift became GLS (X166)

Headlight Bulb Change

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-28-2016, 05:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2015 E63 S AMG
Headlight Bulb Change

Hey all... It's my first time messing with an SUV, and I know this a dumb question, but how do I get the headlight bulb out? I have the non-HID lights, and want to upgrade them with an HID kit. But there's like two inches of space behind the low-beam dust cap, so I can barely get my hand in there to even take it off. On my E63, this wasn't an issue. Is there some trick, or does the whole headlight have to come out? Thanks!
Old 09-29-2016, 12:04 AM

Received 35 Likes on 21 Posts
2016 C63S AMG
I noticed the same small space when I attempted to do mine, so I had a local MBZ indy shop swap my bulbs out. I believe they used a rivet removal tool to pop off a small door in the front wheel fender well, then you have direct easy access to the low beam bulb. There is no need to remove the headlight housing. It took them less than 10 minutes to do both and they were nice enough to not charge for the service
The following users liked this post:
Grey.Spectre (09-29-2016)
Old 09-29-2016, 02:27 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2015 E63 S AMG
Originally Posted by mdot949
I noticed the same small space when I attempted to do mine, so I had a local MBZ indy shop swap my bulbs out. I believe they used a rivet removal tool to pop off a small door in the front wheel fender well, then you have direct easy access to the low beam bulb. There is no need to remove the headlight housing. It took them less than 10 minutes to do both and they were nice enough to not charge for the service
Ahhh, I see! I'm going to go look on mine right now... That'll definitely make life easier, thank you. I still can't believe how I didn't notice that the one I bought didn't have the ILS xenon setup. Ugh. I checked literally everything else. Oh well, at least now I can upgrade to them.