S-Class (W220) 1999-2006: S 320 CDI, S 320, S430, S 500, S 600

The demise of our wallet - Rebuilding an 05 S600

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-30-2016, 04:29 PM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
04 ML500, 05 S600
The demise of our wallet - Rebuilding an 05 S600

This took place over the summer and I'm just getting around to sharing our journey down this road that we haven't traveled much before. My background is in Mitsubishi cars (specifically the 3000GT VR4). That's what we do for a living (restore, rebuild, and modify them). I posted this story on a private forum we are on, so I'll just copy and paste from there.... as I probably will forget too many details if I start typing now (so excuse some of the references in there) .

So, this is all Emilie's fault. I just need to start it like that to make myself feel better. But lately she's been wanting a car to drive instead of the SUV. Something that won't cost as much to part in NYC. So, she decided to look into a Mercedes sedan. That was problem number 1. I know she can't have the basic model of any car/truck. She finds out about the CL600 and goes nuts. But, she hates that it's a coupe. Then, she finds out about the S600 and goes on a major hunt. I'm pretty sure our kids starved and went without a bath for a week while she learned about this thing. So, next thing I know.... we're looking for 03+ models of the S600. Why? Because it has a V12 twin turbo engine. You know.... to get the kids to play group.