SL/SLC-Class (R107) 1971-1989 : 250SL, 280SL, 450 SL, 380 SLC, 450 SL, 380 SL, 560 SL

SL/R107: New member and looking into buying a 1977 450SL - any advice appreciated!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-06-2014, 04:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
None yet
Question New member and looking into buying a 1977 450SL - any advice appreciated!

Hi everyone,

New here and decided to sign up after reading a couple of great threads.

I am looking into buying a 1970ies 450 SL, will look at a 1977 tomorrow actually. Purpose is to use as a weekend fun car. Wanted to see if you have any general advice or something that applies to this model. I am new to classic cars for the most part, but definitely understand a bit about mechanics etc.

Here is what I know so far:
- California car, allegedly parked in garage (I'll check the rust tomorrow)
- It is running and I'll find out more tomorrow
- Pictures look pretty good as far as exterior and interior can be judged from those
- No rear bench, no soft folding top, only hard top
- It's around $3500

When I look at it, what should I check for before I take it to a mechanic I trust?

Thanks a bunch for every help I can get!
Old 02-09-2014, 07:56 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
SOLD both: 1987 560SL 2003 ML320