SLK-Class (R170) 1998-2003: SLK 200, SLK 230K, SLK 320

SLK/R170: Someone said I should put a V8 in it......

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-16-2017, 12:12 PM

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
1999 SLK 5.5L 6-speed, 1993 300 SE
R170 4.3 V8 swap

So I am!

I'm new to the forums and thought I should join to share my adventure.

I've had my SLK for 4 years (next month), and we've been through a lot together.. a couple of girlfriends, a few trips up Pikes Peak, and more recently it survived a deer.. This car was my daily driver for about 3 of those years, and I recently bought something newer (and faster... and more comfy Chrysler 200S).. but since then, I've been mulling over the idea of making my special little buddy a little bit "better".. I've been doing autocross for a couple of years (i have youtube videos if you type "slk230 autocross"), and was going to settle for better brakes and possibly some suspension work, and maybe with a little bit of money i was going to try aftermarket ECU and possibly a turbo...?

I didn't really consider the V8 swap until one came up on craigslist, complete with transmission, ECU, harness and everything still attached to the engine. and it was only $350! all things considered, it should be straight forward mechanically. the 722 transmission has a slightly different bell housing than the one with the V8, so I will just use the one I got with the V8, and from doing picture comparisons, it appears that the motor mounts are common between this V8 and the V6 that came optional in the SLK. the only (possibly) major issue I see with fitment is around the steering box. I got lucky and this engine is from a CLK, meaning the manifolds are tucked up against the engine, but i still may need to make a clearance cut on the left exhaust manifold