SLS/R197/C197 AMG: AMG Adaptive Suspension Option on SLS

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-16-2017, 01:59 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 179 Likes on 144 Posts
SLS AMG
AMG Adaptive Suspension Option on SLS

It seems when I talk to people interested in purchasing an SLS the Adaptive Suspension is the most misunderstood option on the car. I'm no expert but, I wanted to jot down (cut and paste ) the differences here. I am only familiar when this options occurred in the USA as far as model years go.

There was no Adaptive in 2011 Coupes (There was no Roadster in 2011)

There are two different AMG Adaptive Suspensions. One for 2012 and, one for 2013 and up GT cars. I will leave out the Black Series for now.

The 2012 has the most versatile suspension of any SLS with 3 settings
The 2013 has no Comfort setting. It only has 2 settings.

For 2012 New AMG Adaptive Suspension (Option 479)

The new Adaptive AMG Sport Suspension with electronically controlled damping is available as an attractive optional alternative to the standard AMG sports suspension. It enables the damping characteristics to be modified at the touch of a button. Using a button on the AMG DRIVE UNIT, the driver can choose his own suspension setup. Three modes are available: "Comfort", "Sport" and "Sport plus". The current mode is shown in the instrument cluster.

"Comfort" delivers a sensitive response with soft damping characteristics, while in "Sport" mode the shock absorbers have a much stiffer response depending on the driving situation. This not only leads to better road contact, but also effectively suppresses body roll and pitching. "Sport plus" is ideal for challenging laps on a racetrack: in addition to the higher damping force, this mode comes with specific control algorithms that have been tailor-made for a sporty driving style. The new, variable suspension will also be optionally available for the SLS AMG Coupé in future.