better handleing

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-16-2015, 01:40 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 338 Likes on 290 Posts
2005 e55 AMG
better handleing

Anyone road race there 55 on long tracks? Looking for suspension upgrades . MOST of all quicker steering. Thinking of raising the power steering pump pressure a few pounds at a time to see what happens, These cars feel really heavy in the steering....I know they are heavy cars but there has to be better options.Thanks
Old 01-16-2015, 02:57 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
3-pointed star
99.999999% of the folks here go to straight line 1/4 mile 1/2 mile tracks. You are one of the first to ask about road race (which I'm happy/surprised).

Your best bet would be to throw on coilovers and maybe retrofit CLK black series steering for a better feel? Just throw ideas out there I'm not an expert by any means
Old 01-16-2015, 03:11 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 25 Likes on 24 Posts
E55
You are not going to get a nimble handling E55. It's not the right car. Too heavy upfront and the suspension is totally wrong (airbags). Wider tires upfront would reduce under steer. I have had mine on a few road courses and it's a dog. The brakes are all wrong as well. The SBC gives a very disconnected feel and overheats very quickly.

When hitting the corners at 80-90MPH it's there is a lot of body roll and weight transfer going on that makes it very difficult to stay confident and requires A LOT of small adjustments at the wheel.

When entering a corner at 40-50MPH the entry feels numb, lots of body roll and understeer. When you cross the apex and lay into the throttle you go into a strange transition between understeer/floating/severe oversteer and then you rocket down the straight away.