Made the jump... '09 C63 to '12 CLS63 PP

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-28-2015, 12:54 PM

Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts
ED1 e63S
Made the jump... '09 C63 to '12 CLS63 PP

Hi all,

Just wanted to introduce myself as it is my first time posting in this sub forum. I picked up a '12 Magno Alanite CLS63 PP last weekend and had some questions about the car. I came from a lightly modded '09 C63 (Eurocharged Tune, X-pipe, K&N filters). The C was very raw and loud compared to the CLS. It will definitely take some time to get used to how much subtler this car is. That being said, I LOVE the matte Alanite paint, the PP bits, the look of the car as well as the additional amenities that is has over my C63. I'm looking forward to getting some more time with the car to get know its in's and out's.

I had a couple of questions that I wanted to ask you guys.

1. On cold starts, I have a rattle that starts immediately when the engine is fired but goes away when the idle drops down. Is this common?

2. I get a creaking sound when I turn the wheel left and right that is not the tires. Definitely sounds like a bushing or something related to the power steering. Is this a common issue for these cars? I plan on getting this and the rattle checked out by the dealer soon but it's a shame that I bought a CPO'd car that would have these issues right from the dealership.

3. How many of you guys have removed the second resonator? If so, have you used straight or an X-pipe? I had an X on my C63 and loved the sharp, agressive sound. Is this achievable with this car?

4. Has anyone had any issues with the angle of the rear view camera? Mine seems to be pointed down too far and could use some adjusting.

5. Are K&N filters worth the money on this car or does the existing airbox flow pretty well? On the C63 it was pretty restrictive and a lot of guys suched to the ROTW boxes.