Wheels, Tires, Suspension & Brakes Forum Discuss wheels, tires, suspension and brakes for your Mercedes-Benz.
Need wheels & tires? Checkout the MBWorld Marketplace and support your forums!

'03 E55K brake pads change with SBC

Old 06-18-2015, 07:18 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
2012 E63 AMG Biturbo wagon, 2003 ML320 petrol, 2004 SL500, 2005 SLK55 AMG
'03 E55K brake pads change with SBC

Good morning all - MB World newbie here, from (near to) London, England. When my car - an '03 E55 Wagon - had its annual Government safety check recently, there was an advisory for front brake pads (4mm left). The pad wear warning hasn't come on yet, but I suspect it won't be long before it does. I'll change them this summer, while the weather is good.

The car has SBC. While I'm changing the pads I really don't want the SBC to wake up and eat my fingers - I'm very attached to them...

There's a procedure in the new Haynes W211 manual for deactivating and reactivating the SBC system, and I found a rather simpler one on this website, as follows:

1. Close all doors.
2. Wait until system is asleep ( Instrument cluster will go completely black)
3. YOU CAN NOW WORK ON THE BRAKES, BUT DO NOT ‘WAKE UP’ THE SYSTEM BY LOCKING OR UNLOCKING THE CAR OR OPENING A DOOR!!!
4. ONCE DONE, START THE CAR AND PUMP THE PEDAL.
5. IF THE RED LIGHT COMES ON, CYCLE THE KEY SEVERAL TIMES UNTIL IT EXTINGUISHES.

However, the Haynes manual also states that the system can be de-activated simply by disconnecting the main battery and waiting ten minutes. That's simple, and I like simple; simple is best - less to go wrong.

Even simpler, would be to disconnect the SBC unit from the car's electrics, but I assume this will not work. First question: am I right?

The actual pad change, except that there are four (?) pads on each wheel, not two, seems just like any other pad change; I've done hundreds of them down the years, so should not be a problem - or (second question) might it? Is there anything I'm missing?